Thirsk

A mile and a quarter, oval track, Thirsk most definitely favours those horses can lie handy as the ground often rides on the fast side and the course dips just before the final furlong. On this basis, big, galloping types who take longer to find their full stride are at a marked disadvantage. The Classic Trial in April and the Thirsk Hunt Cup in May are the two most significant races staged at the track. Thirsk Racecourse, Station Rd, Thirsk, North Yorkshire YO7 1QL. The Effect of the Draw. High numbers are best in sprints on firm ground, but low numbers are favoured on good to soft or softer. Low numbers are just about best over 6f 216yds and a mile. Concentrate on the top four stalls over 5f on firm ground and the bottom four stalls on soft ground (14+ runners).

Hospitality

Fixtures at Thirsk

Date Course Type
Sat Apr 18 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Apr 27 2020 Thirsk Flat - Evening - Turf
Sat May 2 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Sat May 9 2020 Thirsk Flat - Evening - Turf
Sat May 16 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Jun 15 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Tue Jun 16 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Wed Jul 1 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Fri Jul 24 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Sat Aug 1 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Fri Aug 7 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Fri Aug 14 2020 Thirsk Flat - Evening - Turf
Fri Aug 28 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Sat Sep 5 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Sep 14 2020 Thirsk Flat - Afternoon - Turf