Leicester

Leicester is a smart, dual-purpose track where all flat races up to one mile are staged on the straight course, which adjoins onto the fairly stiff but fair 1m6f main round track. Known for its ground conditions rarely relenting to excessive rain, the course suits those who enjoy a sound racing surface. Leicester is better known for its chase races and this particular course has ten fences, two open ditches and the regulatory water jump. Leicester Racecourse, Oadby, Leicester LE2 4AL.

Featured Articles

Upcoming packages to look forward to in 2021

2020/04/20

With what is proving to be quite a testing and tricky time for us all, we want to shake away the doom and gloom with some exciting racing trips and packages to look forward to come 2021 when things return back to normal…

Let’s start from the beginning

 

 

Hospitality

Fixtures at Leicester

Date Course Type
Fri Jul 17 2020 Leicester Evening - Flat
Sun Aug 2 2020 Leicester Afternoon - Flat
Mon Aug 10 2020 Leicester Afternoon - Flat
Tue Sep 8 2020 Leicester Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Sep 21 2020 Leicester Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Tue Oct 6 2020 Leicester Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Tue Oct 13 2020 Leicester Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Oct 26 2020 Leicester Flat - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Nov 16 2020 Leicester Jump - Afternoon - Turf
Sun Nov 29 2020 Leicester Jump - Afternoon - Turf
Thu Dec 3 2020 Leicester Jump - Afternoon - Turf
Wed Dec 9 2020 Leicester Jump - Afternoon - Turf
Mon Dec 28 2020 Leicester Jump - Afternoon - Turf

Leicester Races News

BRITISH HORSERACING AUTHORITY PRESS RELEASE - Statement regarding Leicester's fixture on 7 July

2020/07/01

The British Horseracing Authority is to have further discussions with the relevant authorities before taking a final decision on a scheduled race meeting in Leicester next week.

The BHA will also speak to representative bodies within the industry regarding the issues arising from local lockdowns and the impact they may have in future on racing.

A decision on the Leicester meeting, due to take place on Tuesday 7 July, will be taken by lunchtime this Friday, 3 July. Entries are being taken as normal.

BHA PRESS RELEASE - Return of owners to the racecourse

2020/06/29

d6163200-5a6f-4435-9bec-83be01eca080.jpg

Industry plans will allow owners to attend race meetings behind closed doors from 4 July

Racehorse owners will be able to start attending race meetings behind closed doors from Saturday 4 July in a safe and risk-managed way, under plans agreed by the Racecourse Association (RCA), Racehorse Owners Association (ROA) and British Horseracing Authority (BHA).

RESUMPTION OF RACING - NEW FIXTURES DATES

2020/06/02

We have updated this web site, https://www.racingfixtures.co.uk to feature all of the fixtures from the resumption of racing in the UK.