ALL WEATHER CHAMPIONSHIP MEDIA RELEASE - Classy field assembled for Matchbook Floodlit Stakes on Monday

Published 2019/11/02

Established in 2006, the Polytrack contest has been won by G1 scorers Spanish Moon, Mastery, Prince Bishop and Pether's Moon.

More recently, Grendisar took the spoils in 2014 before going on to be crowned 2016 All-Weather Horse of the Year, thanks to victories in the G3 Winter Derby and £200,000 Easter Classic on All-Weather Championships Finals Day, both at Lingfield Park.

Young Rascal (William Haggas/Tom Marquand) is one of four runners in this year's race to have won at G3 level or above.

The four-year-old, who has not raced since two substandard efforts in the spring, captured three G3 races in 2018, including a narrow defeat of Dee Ex Bee in the Chester Vase.

Champion trainer John Gosden landed the 2016 running with Western Hymn and the Newmarket handler's two runners are led by Royal Line (Robert Havlin), winner of the G3 September Stakes over the course and distance on his penultimate start.

The five-year-old has since finished third in the G2 QIPCO Long Distance Cup over two miles at Ascot on October 19.

Godolphin's 2011 Floodlit Stakes victor Prince Bishop went on to win the G1 Dubai World Cup in 2015.

Sheikh Mohammed's operation is represented by G2 scorer Loxley (Charlie Appleby/Adam Kirby), who returned to form when just touched off in the Listed Godolphin Stakes at Newmarket on September 27, in which Weekender (John Gosden/Harry Bentley) finished third.

Sprit Of Appin (Martin Dwyer), one of two fillies in the field, comes into the race at the top of her game.

Trained by Brian Meehan, she took third in the Listed Galtres Stakes at York's Ebor Festival, prior to a brave front-running success in the G3 Princess Royal Stakes at Newmarket on September 27. Meehan said today: "Spirit Of Appin is in good shape. It was obviously a shame she could not run last week when Newbury was called off, but we are excited to be running her on Monday.

"I was delighted with her performance at Newmarket. She has been a real improver this year and hopefully she will be able to continue that into next year as well. "It looks a good race, but our filly is in great order."

South African import Last Winter (Louis Steward) is an interesting runner for Sir Michael Stoute. The six-year-old was placed at G1 level in South Africa, though needs to bounce back after finishing sixth on his UK debut in the Listed Fortune Stakes over a mile at Sandown Park in September.

Sandown Park handicap winner Mina Vagante (Hugo Palmer/Josephine Gordon) completes the field. Kempton Park's eight-race card starts at 1.30pm and ends at 5.00pm.

About the All-Weather Championships Season seven of the All-Weather Championships runs from Tuesday, October 22, 2019 and culminates with All-Weather Championships Finals Day on Good Friday, April 10, 2020 at Lingfield Park.

The seven races on All-Weather Championships Finals Day are worth a total of £1 million. The season seven information pack can be downloaded by following this link and scrolling down to the bottom of the page: All Weather Championship Explained

The six championship categories are:

£150,000 Three-Year-Olds sponsored by Ladbrokes - 6f Final

£150,000 Fillies & Mares sponsored by Ladbrokes - 7f Final

£150,000 Mile sponsored by Bombardier - 1m Final

£150,000 Sprint sponsored by Betway - 6f Final

£150,000 Marathon sponsored by Betway - 2m Final

£200,000 Middle Distance sponsored Betway - 10f Final There are two ways for horses to qualify for one of the finals on All-Weather Championships Finals Day at Lingfield Park: * A horse can win a 'Fast Track Qualifier' race which will ensure a FREE and GUARANTEED place in the corresponding final on Good Friday.

There are four Fast Track Qualifiers in each of the six Championship Categories hosted at racecourses in Great Britain, Ireland and France. If a filly wins any of the Fast-Track Qualifier races for either the Sprint or the Mile categories, the filly will be qualified for the final of that specific category, or for the Fillies and Mares Final.

or * A horse must run a minimum of three times on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland and France; or twice on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland, France and once on dirt in Dubai during the qualifying period between October 22, 2019 and the six-day entry stage for the finals (Saturday, April 4, 2020) and then be rated high enough to 'make the cut' in a final by order of its BHA Rating.

The 24 Fast-Track Qualifiers are scheduled as follows: Category Date Racecourse Dist Race Winner 3YO 22 Oct 2019 Newcastle 6f Conditions Temple Of Heaven (Richard Hannon/Sean Levey

FILLIES & MARES 31 Oct 2019 Lingfield Park 8f Listed (Fleur De Lys) Scentasia (John Gosden/David Egan)

FILLIES & MARES 01 Nov 2019 Dundalk (IRE) 8f Listed (Cooley) Surrounding (Michael Halford/Ronan Whelan)

SPRINT 16 Nov 2019 Lingfield Park 6f Listed (Golden Rose)

MIDDLE DISTANCE 16 Nov 2019 Lingfield Park 10f Listed (Churchill)

MILE 20 Nov 2019 Kempton Park 8f Listed (Hyde)

MIDDLE DISTANCE 28 Nov 2019 Deauville (FR) 9.5f Listed (Lyphard) 3YO 07 Dec 2019 Wolverhampton 6f Conditions

MARATHON 14 Dec 2019 Newcastle 16f Conditions

FILLIES & MARES 03 Jan 2020 Wolverhampton 7f Conditions

MILE 08 Jan 2020 Newcastle 8f Conditions SPRINT 08 Jan 2020 Newcastle 5f Conditions

MARATHON 13 Jan 2020 Wolverhampton 16f Conditions 3YO 20 Jan 2020 Kempton Park 6f Conditions

SPRINT 01 Feb 2020 Lingfield Park 6f Listed (Cleves)

MIDDLE DISTANCE 01 Feb 2020 Lingfield Park 10f Listed (W D Trial)

FILLIES & MARES 13 Feb 2020 Chelmsford City 8f Conditions

MILE 15 Feb 2020 Cagnes-sur-Mer (FR) 8f Listed (Saonois)

MARATHON 16 Feb 2020 Kempton Park 16f Conditions

MIDDLE DISTANCE 22 Feb 2020 Lingfield Park 10f Group 3 (Winter Derby) 3YO 29 Feb 2020 Lingfield Park 7f Listed (Spring Cup)

SPRINT 03 Mar 2020 Chantilly (FR) 6f Conditions

MARATHON 07 Mar 2020 Chelmsford City 16f Conditions

MILE 07 Mar 2020 Wolverhampton 7f Listed (Lady Wulfruna) In addition to the fantastic prize money on offer, up to £10,000 will go to each of the All-Weather Champions - the 'All Stars' - based on the number of winners at the end of the All-Weather Championships season:

Champion All-Weather Jockey (£8,000 to the winner /£2,000 to the runner-up)

Champion All-Weather Apprentice Jockey (£4,000 to the winner/£1,000 to the runner-up)

Champion All-Weather Trainer (£10,000)

Champion All-Weather Owner (£10,000) Winning Most All-Weather Horse (£10,000)

All-Weather Horse Of The Year (based on prize money won during the Championships) (£10,000)