All-Weather Championships Media Release Wednesday, November 25, 2020 Sky Power wins Prix Lyphard thriller

Published 2020/11/25

The Polytrack contest over nine and a half furlongs is a Fast-Track Qualifier, with Sky Power now guaranteed a start in the feature 10-furlong Betway Easter Classic at Lingfield Park on All-Weather Championships Finals Day, Good Friday, April 2.

Sky Power, representing trainer Gael Barbedette and regular rider Stephane Pasquier, settled well in midfield of the 14 runners as an even pace was set by British challenger Winter Reprise (David Menuisier/Augustin Madamet, 23/1).

Sky Power was in share of ninth place at the top of the home straight and made good progress to move on to the tail of the leaders with a furlong remaining.

Fellow three-year-old Winter Reprise showed a great attitude when challenged on all sides and for a long way it looked that nobody would get by him, but he could not resist the thrusting challenge of Sky Power in the final 25 yards.

The margin of victory was a short neck, with Bugle Major (Pascal Bary/Vincent Cheminaud, 17/2) just a head further behind in a four-way finish for third.

The 5/2 favourite Romanciere (Andre Fabre/Maxime Guyon), third in the G1 Prix Jean Romanet on her penultimate start, held every chance in the straight, eventually fading close home to finish seventh.

Sky Power, a son of Stormy River, has now won two of his four starts on the All-Weather. Barbedette said:

“Stephane [Pasquier] gave me a fright - he is very calm and I tend to get very nervous! What a race, what a ride - bravo Stephane!

“I would like to thank Mr and Mrs Roy, the owners [Roy Racing Ltd], for their trust.

It is a super result. “It was stressful to watch, he was in between horses and it wasn't easy to see him coming up between them to get his head in front.”

Pasquier said: “I know the horse by heart, he has a capacity to accelerate that is not common in horses, and he showed that today.

“When he relaxes as he did here, he is able to win the big races. I am very happy. A thought for the owners, and for all the owners that can't be here also.”


Sky Power (black colours)

About the All-Weather Championships

Season eight of the All-Weather Championships runs from Tuesday, October 20, 2020 and culminates with All-Weather Championships Finals Day on Good Friday, April 2, 2021 at Lingfield Park.

The six championship categories are:

Three-Year-Olds sponsored by Ladbrokes - 6f Final

Fillies & Mares sponsored by Ladbrokes - 7f Final

Mile sponsored by Bombardier - 1m Final

Sprint sponsored by Betway - 6f Final

Marathon sponsored by Betway - 2m Final

Middle Distance sponsored Betway - 10f Final

There are two ways for horses to qualify for one of the finals on All-Weather Championships Finals Day at Lingfield Park:

* A horse can win a 'Fast Track Qualifier' race which will ensure a FREE and GUARANTEED place in the corresponding final on Good Friday. There are four Fast Track Qualifiers in each of the six Championship Categories hosted at racecourses in Great Britain, Ireland and France. If a filly wins any of the Fast-Track Qualifier races for either the Sprint or the Mile categories, the filly will be qualified for the final of that specific category, or for the Fillies and Mares Final.

or * A horse must run a minimum of three times on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland and France; or twice on the All-Weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland, France and once on dirt in Dubai during the qualifying period between October 20, 2020 and the six-day entry stage for the finals (Saturday, March 28, 2021) and then be rated high enough to 'make the cut' in a final by order of its BHA Rating.

For details of the 24 Fast-Track Qualifiers, please click here:

In addition, prizes will be awarded to each of the All-Weather Champions - the 'All Stars' - based on the number of winners at the end of the All-Weather Championships season:

Champion All-Weather Jockey (winner and runner up)

Champion All-Weather Apprentice Jockey (winner and runner up)

Champion All-Weather Trainer

Champion All-Weather Owner

Winning Most All-Weather Horse