Search by Racecourse
Use the search by racecourse feature above to select the racecourse you require or click on the interactive map on the right to select the racecourse of your choice

Interactive Map (horseracing) Racing Fixtures Logo - Click Here To Go Home (horseracing)
Local Area Directory
Business Services| Eating Out / Nightlife| Health & Beauty| Home & Garden|
Hotels & Accommodation| Local Shopping| Leisure, Motoring & Transport
Fixtures at Pontefract
Date Race Type
Sunday 25th June 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Monday 3rd July 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Tuesday 11th July 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Friday 21st July 2017 Flat - Turf - Evening
Sunday 30th July 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Wednesday 9th August 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Sunday 20th August 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Thursday 21st September 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Thursday 28th September 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Monday 9th October 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
Monday 23rd October 2017 Flat - Turf - Afternoon
The fixtures are reproduced under license to the British Horseracing Authority.(m326) ©British Horseracing Authority 2005 - 2018. The fixtures may be subject to alteration.

Pontefract Racecourse

Set in West Yorkshire, Pontefract is one of the most popular tracks in the north of England and produces many course specialists. Being a stiff, undulating two-mile track, the emphasis is firmly placed on stamina in the staying races but front runners are ideally suited to this track in sprints where an inside, low draw is important.

Pontefract Racecourse, Pontefract Park, Park Rd, Pontefract, Wakefield WF8 4QD.
Official Website: http://www.pontefract-races.co.uk/

The Effect of the Draw

Low numbers should do best here, purely because the course turns left all the way, but that doesn't work out in practice. Indeed, high numbers are best when the going is heavy, as the ground on the inside rail soon gets chewed up.